Causeway Chronicle

Strollers in Cup final – possible double on for Maghera men

Maghera Strollers are into the final of the Morning League Challenge Cup after beating Portstewart Town 5-2 in a thrilling encounter at Craiglea Gardens in Kilrea.

The Strollers led 2-0 at half time thanks to two great strikes from Mark Dixon.

The Ports pulled one back early in the second half from the penalty spot to make it 2-1 brfotr Shane O’Boyle restored the two goal advantage just after the hour mark when he headed home a sublime free kick from Conall Darragh.

With 10 minutes remaining, Portstewart pulled another back courtesy of a header at the back post to set up a nervy last 10 minutes but they needn’t have worried because with a few minutes to go Eoghan Young put the Strollers two goals in front with a great solo effort.

In injury time Eoghan Young turned over possession on the wing and squared it to Tiarnan Flanagan who made no mistake from inside the box to send the crowd wild.

The Maghers management were impressed with every player being exceptional, making it impossible to pick a man of the match

The final against Ballymoney United Reserves will be played on 4th May at 7.00pm in Coleraine Showgrounds.

Maghera Strollers 1 Shaun McNamee GK 2 Jack Gunning 3 Brian Coll 5 Odhran Craig 6 Declan McErlean CP 8 Jamie Clark 9 Shane O’Boyle 10 Tiarnan Flanagan 11 Ryan Winton 13 Marc Dixon 16 Conall Darragh Substitutions 4 Darragh Dawson 7 Conor Baker 12 Cathal Gallagher 14 Joseph Young 15 Daniel Wright 17 Jordan Convery 19 Eoghan Young

Portstewart Town 1 Robert McLelland GK 2 Lukasz Silakowski 3 Jordan McLaughlin 4 Mark Baker 5 Colin McAleese CP 6 Kieran Tasker-Lynch 8 Joshua McKendry 9 Kieran Neill 11 Alan Cahoon 14 Greg McAfee 15 Andrew Carr Substitutions 7 Eoghan Daly 10 Michael Ireland 12 Ryan McLaughlin 13 Jad Dorrian 16 Danny Bradley 17 Chris Hanson 18 Steven Coyles

Referee: Alan McQuiston

Causeway Chronicle

Causeway Chronicle