Causeway Chronicle

North West 200 weekend means Friday night stock car racing at Aghadowey Oval on May 10th.

Galgorm’s Shane Murray currently tops the standing in National Hot Rods World Series NI

Topping the bill are the National Hot Rods in the thirteenth and penultimate round of World Series NI. Galgorm’s Shane Murray heads the standing in the chase to be crowned NI Champion and qualify for the World Championships at Ipswich in July. 
Shane is a slender 12 points ahead of Adam Maxwell in the standings, and just last month the Crumlin driver added the European Championship to the British title he already holds. Just one point further back is the reigning World Champion, Dungannon’s Derek Martin.

Add in defending NI Champion Glenn Bell, John Christie, Jeff Riordan and Gary Woolsey, plus winner last time out Jordan McCann, and an evening of high speed entertainment is on the cards.

The Stock Rods division will be chasing the King of Aghadowey title, and having started the season superbly there should be even more close, competitive action. Enniskillen’s Stevie McNeice will defend the title he won a year ago, but will face stiff opposition from all angles. 
Ahoghill’s Reuben Kernohan was victorious up at Tullyroan Oval recently and he will be hungry for more success, as will World Champion Dan Shannon and European Champion Joe Largey. British and National Champion Mark Crawford will be another threat, as will another current form man, Randalstown’s Sam McNeice. Joining the action will be welcome Tipperary visitors Paddy O’Dwyer and Molly O’Sullivan.

Support action on the night comes from the Thunder Rods and Junior Productions. 
In the Thunder Rods current Irish Champion James Goldie and fellow Ballymena man Daniel Rodgers will be ones to watch, whilst Kilrea’s Zack McCombe, Ballymoney’s Neil Capper and Ballycastle star Andrew McLean will be sure to be in contention too.

The teenagers in the Junior Productions have provided some great action so far in 2024, with current form man Leyton Hughes from Antrim one to watch. Killyman’s Irish Champion Matthew Weir and Portadown’s Callum Doak will be others chasing the win.

The first race leaves the grid at 7.15pm on Friday evening.

DMC Race Promotions, Hot Rod and Stockcar Racing At its very Best

Former World Champion Andy Best from Gilford raced to a heat and final double in the 2.0 Hot Rods at Tullyroan Oval on Saturday evening (May 4th), during another excellent meeting from all five formulas on show. The King of Krash title for the Unlimted National Bangers fell to Donemana’s Leonard Dunn, whilst there were Tullyroan Challenge Cup successes for three drivers – Bangor’s Craig McConnell (Superstox), Banbridge star Gareth Halliday (1300 Stock Cars) and Ballymena’s James Goldie (Thunder Rods).

There were over 20 cars on the grid for the opening 2.0 Hot Rods heat, with Andy Best powering through the busy field to take the win after both Chris McCloy and Robbie Barnett had enjoyed spells out front. Heat two saw McCloy again the early pacesetter before Allen Cherry swooped around the outside to win in style from Ryan McCrory and Wayne Woolsey.
The final again saw McCloy out front early on once again, before he was caught by a whole bunch of challengers. With the track damp offline it made things very tricky, but Best managed to get underneath McCloy to hit the front. Despite late pressure from Woolsey and Adam Heatrick, Best held on to complete his brace of wins for the evening and claim an upgrade for the next meeting to the red grade.

A pleasing entry produced one of the better Unlimited National Banger meetings for some time, entertaining the fans all evening with some great racing and some big hits! The main event was the King of Krash, which fell to Leonard Dunn after a fine drive ahead of Stevo McGrath and Dave Haugh. 
Deano McGrath held the lead in the first Allcomers race before he was spun out of contention, handing Dunn the lead and another win over the recovered Deano McGrath and David Gurney. The second Allcomers event went the way of Matthew Nicholl, who had somehow managed to repair his car after a huge crash earlier in the evening. Deano McGrath and Darryl Gilshennan chased him home before an outstanding Destruction Derby ended in superb fashion as Stevo and Deano McGrath tied for the win after a huge head-on killed both their cars.

Ahoghill’s Reuben Kernohan will hope to continue his winning run in the Stock Rods division.

Ballymena racer Daniel Rodgers will be chasing Thunder Rods glory at Aghadowey Oval

Aaron McCullough

Aaron McCullough