Causeway Chronicle

Last gasp Jamie strike seals Coleraine win

Coleraine. 1 Glenavon 0

Relief all round as Coleraine ended their wretched run of form with this welcome win.

Going by the club’s recent meetings, a visit from Glenavon was the last thing Oran Kearney wanted.

But his team brought to an end a poor run of form to record their third win from their last 15 league games.

A last gasp Jamie McGonigle goal secured the points after a hard fought tussle.

It was also a second success in 12 league clashes with the Lurgan Blues…following on from October’s 4-1 success here at the Showgrounds.

Match winner McGonigle had the first opportunity, trying his luck on five minutes from Conor McKendry’s pass.

Glenavon then bared their teeth, with Peter Campbell, Jack Malone and Josh Clarke posing a threat.

Glenavon had a good chance to take the lead.

Malone should have scored just after the half hour when set up by the impressive James Doona but fired wide from close range.

Gareth Deane, making a quick return to the Ballycastle Road, gathered McGonigle’s glancing header moments later.

The visitors continued to look lively and Rory Brown denied former team mate Campbell six minutes before half time.

As in the first half, Coleraine had an early chance at the start of the second period.

McGonigle found himself closing in in Deane but knocked his effort over the crossbar.

The Bannsiders should have been in front on 52 minutes.

McKendry had the unmarked Matthew Shevlin waiting for a pass but elected to go himself and was denied by Deane… fortunately it didn’t prove to be a  decision.

Coleraine ‘keeper Brown then came to his side’s rescue with an important stop to deny Lefo Letifo after a fine cross from Jamie Doran.

Coleraine claimed a dramatic and valuable win with a last gasp winner.

Lee Lynch supplied the pass and McGonigle supplied the all important finish.

With Cliftonville and Linfield up next – after a free weekend – this could prove to be a vital three points as the Bannsiders aim to reclaim their top six berth.

Coleraine 13 Rory Brown GK 3 Dean Jarvis 5 Graham Kelly 7 Conor McKendry 8 Stephen Lowry 9 Matthew Shevlin 11 Joshua Carson 14 Kieran Farren
15 Stephen O’Donnell C 18 Jack Scott 19 Jamie McGonigle Substitutions 51 Cathair Donnelly GK 6 Aaron Jarvis 10 David McDaid 16 Lee Lynch 21 Jack O’Mahony 29 Andrew Scott 31 Senan Devine

Glenavon 44 Gareth Deane GK 4 Calum Birney 5 David Toure 8 Jack Malone 9 Gavin Hodgins 10 Peter Campbell 11 Niall Quinn C 16 Isaac Baird 25 Darren Clarke 28 Robert Garrett 39 James Doona Substitutions 13 Mark Byrne GK 2 Conor Kerr 6 Mark Haughey 7 Matthew Snoddy 20 Stephen Teggart 24 Jamie Doran 99 Lido Lotefa

Referee: Shane Andrews 1st assistant: Brian Wilson 2nd assistant: Bogdan Sfirloaga 4th official: Ian McNabb

Michael Anderson

Michael Anderson