Causeway Chronicle

King of Aghadowey On The Line in 2 Litre Hot Rods

Oval racing returns to Aghadowey Oval on Saturday night, April 20th, when the 2.0 Hot Rods King of Aghadowey is the feature event on the programme.

The opening meetings of the season for the formula have been superbly competitive, with some fantastic racing served up for the fans. Current form man is Bleary’s former European and Irish Champion Drew McKeown, who has taken two feature race wins in the last month. He will be keen to be crowned King, but will face stiff opposition. Antrim’s Irish Champion Conor Hughes has been rapid of late too, whilst World Champion Jordan Rochford and British Champion Wayne Woolsey can’t be discounted. Dungannon duo Andy Best and Jake Devlin, the latter the winner at Aghadowey on Easter Monday, will be others to watch.

The open wheeled Superstox have their first Aghadowey outing of the season, with Dungannon’s David McMenemy aiming to continue his unbeaten run in finals this term. His last win up at Tullyroan Oval came after he got the better of a superb scrap with Upperlands driver Davy Clarke and Portadown’s Jordan Robinson. World Champ Craig McConnell and National and Irish Champion Lee Davison are also sure to be to the fore.

More contact racing comes from the 1300 Stock Cars, another formula that are on great form. The bumpers will be put to great use as the drivers battle for the win. Crumlin’s Irish Champion Matthew Milliken is the star man at present, with Cullybackey’s Curtis Greer and Carnalbana’s Bobbie Johnston two to look out for amongst the frantic action.

Garvagh’s Zack McCombe was victorious in the Thunder Rods at Easter, but as always the budget formula will see a whole host of possible winners. Ballymena duo James Goldie and Daniel Rodgers are always in the mix, alongside Ballymoney’s Neil Capper who scored a brace of heat wins last time out.

Completing the line up are the young guns in the Ninja Karts. Ahoghill’s Lewis Hazlett, fresh from a super second place is a star studded King of Aghadowey at Easter, will be one to watch alongside Richhill’s Jake Barnett and Cullybackey’s Keegan Turtle.

The first race leaves the Aghadowey Oval grid at 6.30pm.

Aaron McCullough

Aaron McCullough