Causeway Chronicle

Injury hit Bannsiders suffer defeat

Larne 2 Coleraine 0

Defeat on the road for Coleraine on Friday December evening at the home of the champions. 

This was always going to be a tough task as Larne stretched their unbeaten home run to 28 games.

The Bannsiders were the last team to pocket league points at Inver Park. But they were unable to repeat the feat this time out.

Six mad minutes – inside the opening quarter of an hour – turned this contest on its head. Their hopes weren’t helped by early injury setbacks that saw both Matthew Shevlin and Andy Scott depart early.

Shevlin lasted only 11 minutes after being injured in a late first minute challenge which earned Cian Bolger a booking. Within sixty seconds of his departure Larne – after a slow start – were in front. Sean Graham provided the delivery and Thomson planted his header past Gareth Deane.

To make matters worse, Andy Scott then took a knock and was withdrawn from the action moments later. Larne dominated for long spells after this but Deane didn’t have a lot to do apart from saving from Levi Ives after 25 minutes.

And Coleraine could have been level at the break. Substitute Davy McDaid closed down ‘keeper Rohan Ferguson but when Jamie Glackin looked set to equalise, Bolger got back to clear off the line.

Larne almost doubled their lead early in the second half. Graham was again the creator but substitute Lee Bonis headed narrowly wide.

Bonis should have scored ten minutes from time when he latched onto Andy Ryan’s flick on but Deane pulled off a fine stop to deny the centre forward.

However, the home side sealed the points sixty seconds from time as Leroy Millar was left unmarked to power home a header from a Ives corner. Larne will be relieved to have followed up last weekend’s win over Linfield with another victory.

And a battling Coleraine will be left to wonder “what if’ after those early setbacks which changed the course of the game after a promising start.

Larne: 1 Rohan Ferguson GK 4 Aaron Donnelly 6 Joseph Thomson 8 Mark Randall 9 Paul O’Neill
14 Levi Ives 18 Cian Bolger C 21 Leroy Millar 23 Tomas Cosgrove 24 Sean Graham 99 Jaziel Orozco Substitutions 28 Aidan Dowling GK 2 Shaun Want 5 Craig Farquhar 10 Lee Bonis 15 Kieran Lloyd 22 Micheal Glynn 29 Andrew Ryan

Coleraine: 1 Gareth Deane GK 3 Dean Jarvis 5 Graham Kelly 7 Conor McKendry 9 Matthew Shevlin 11 Joshua Carson C 14 Kieran Farren 17 Jamie Glackin 21 Jack O’Mahony 23 Jake Wallace 29 Andrew Scott Substitutions 12 Martin Gallagher GK 6 Aaron Jarvis 10 David McDaid 22 Andrew Mitchell 26 Michael McCrudden 31 Senan Devine 32 Alfie Gaston

Referee: Keith Kennedy
1st assistant: Andrew Nethery 2nd assistant: Rachel Greer
4th official: Christopher Morrison

Larne’s Leroy Millar scores during this evening’s game at Inver Park in Larne. Pic Colm Lenaghan / Pacemaker Press
Larne’s Leroy Millar scores during this evening’s game at Inver Park in Larne. Pic Colm Lenaghan / Pacemaker
Causeway Chronicle

Causeway Chronicle