Causeway Chronicle

Gary Kendall records 350th parkrun

Garvagh Forest, event 120 71 completed the course. Noreen Brizzell joined the 25 Club. Gary Kendall recorded his 350th parkrun. Ballycastle’s Alister Jamison (19:11) was the fastest finisher for the second time from two attempts. Springwell’s Rodney McPhee was only eight seconds in arrears. Magherafelt’s Sandra Dunseath (22:00) was also the fastest female for the second time.

Limavady, event 380 Forty-four completed the course. Celia Sanchez-Martinez joined the 50 Club. Gael Butcher recorded her 150th parkrun. Four gents broke twenty minutes, the fastest of which was Springwell’s Chris Denton (17:51). Young Lily Steen (23:26 course PB) was the fastest female for the first time. The visitors included Neal Reilly, the Event Director at Newtownabbey’s Valley parkrun.

Limepark Playing Fields, event 69 Seventy-three completed the course. Ballycastle’s Paula Casey joined the 50 Club. Mark Gardiner (19:30), from the same running club, was fastest finisher for the third time from eighteen visits. He also joined the 25 Club. Samantha Doey (22:16) was the fastest female for the third time from five efforts in Armoy. Maximum respect goes to Saintfield Striders who willingly ventured far to fulfil the volunteer duties. Other running clubs take note!

Portrush, event 532 238 completed the course on New Year’s Day. Ballymena’s James Hamilton joined the 100 Club. Wesley Meenagh and Gladys Montgomery joined the 25 Club. Karen Moore recorded her two hundredth parkrun. Timothy O’Neill (18:23 course PB) was the fastest finisher at the seventh time of asking. Four visitors also broke twenty minutes. They were David Gawn, James and Peter Hamilton, and Belfast’s Chris Moren. The fastest female was the visiting English youngster Emilia Pyper who clocked a course PB with a time of 22:19.

Portrush, event 533 209 completed the course. Niall Henderson joined the 25 Club. Ben McDowell (18:29) was the fastest finisher on his first visit. He finished a few seconds ahead of Stuart McCaughan and Springwell’s David O’Neill. Nobody else broke twenty minutes. Fiona Prue (21:07) was the fastest female for the fourth time.

Michael Anderson

Michael Anderson