Causeway Chronicle

Diamond class as Borbury bounce back


Borbury FC – 5 Riada FC – 1 

(Coleraine & District League – Morning Division 1 – Saturday 13th January 2024)

Meadowbank, Magherafelt was the setting for the Boys as they looked to bounce following their first league defeat of the season last week, as they played Riada in their first home game of 2024.

Keen to right the ship, Borbury started off the stronger side with controlled possession in the Riada half. The pressure was soon capitalised upon when a corner from Mackle found Ben Diamond at the edge of the opposition box who controlled the ball and then placed it into the bottom corner of the keeper Dean Irwin’s net to make it 1-0 to the Borbs on 14 minutes.  Any contention that a Borbury player had potentially unsighted Irwin were waved away by the official, much to Borbury’s relief.

Borbury quickly grabbed a second on the 19th minute when forward Noel Rafferty broke free from a long searching ball and unselfishly laid the ball off to Martin Mackle who made no mistake in slotting the ball into the bottom left corner at close range to make it 2-0.

While Borbury’s dominance was on the rise, Riada continued to battle fiercely, a key theme throughout the game.  Borbury found great success and created many chances from a controlled press led by the tireless Rafferty who another day would have nabbed a couple of goals himself.  From this possession came a perfectly weighted ball from Captain Euan McBride in midfield to find Diamond on the move to control and set up a beauty of a volley into the top right-hand corner of the net giving the Boys a 3-0 lead with 33 minutes played.  The remainder of the half saw Borbury successfully see out their 3-0 lead going into the half-time interval, cognizant of complacency in recent games.

The second half began with Riada upping the tempo and determined to get back in the game.  Still the Borbury backline of Fergal McGuigan, Caolan Donnelly, Ronan McKenna and James O’Connor held firm and continued to build from the back.  As the game entered a strange lull, Borbury were keen to freshen up the legs in midfield introduced Aaron Murray just before the hour mark, who came on like a man on a mission.  While Riada continued to compete and mustered chances from range, Jack Conway was equal to all asked of him in the home side’s nets.

On 70 minutes Mackle broke free for a 1v1 with the keeper, however Irwin in the Riada goal produced a superb save only for the ball to fall to Farrelly who contorted body shape to calmly slot it into the back of the net for Borbury to go 4-0 up.

Borbury then freshened things up further by bringing on the emerging talents of Conor Boyle and Ronan Donnelly on 72 minutes.  The move soon paid dividends when Borbury added their fifth and final goal on 82 minutes when a weighted pass from Boyle found Mackle who slotted the ball past the Riada keeper for his second goal of the day.  With that Joe Heron and Jamie McEldowney entered the fray to help mange the game to its conclusion, stringing intelligent passes together to keep home side possession.   

Despite the controlled possession, Riada brokered themselves a late consolation on the 87th minute when their striker broke through into the box & was brought down with the Referee awarding a penalty. The penalty was calmly and deservedly despatched by Riada Captain Laim McKenna who proved more than a handball all game with some ball bursting runs.

No game for the Borbury Boys next week with set fixture but then it’s back to cup duty against Championship side Tullans Red Star on 27th January in the Steele & Sons Shield.  Thanks to the Borbury supporters who turned out to provide support.  Thanks to this season’s primary sponsors Promould Limited and LJs Tavern with a special mention to the Brackagh Quarry Wind Farm Community Fund.

Borbury 1 Jack Conway GK 3 James O’Connor 4 Caolan Donnelly 5 Fergal McGuigan 7 Ben Diamond 8 Eoin McAuley 9 Logan Farrelly 10 Euan McBride C 11 Martin Mackle 14 Ronan McKenna 20 Noel Rafferty Substitutions 2 Jack Heron 6 Aaron Murray 12 Ryan McAulay 15 Conor Boyle 16 Ronan Donnelly 17 Jamie McEldowney 18 Joe Heron

Riada 1 Dean Irwin GK 3 Steven Warke 4 Christopher Fleming 5 Jonathan Smyth 7 Philip McFarland 8 Christopher Blair 10 Liam McKenna C 11 Noah McCaughan 12 Danny McMullan 17 John McClean 18 Jason Simpson Substitutions 2 Mark McFerran 6 Jude Bolton 14 Luke Nevin 16 Leon McMaster 20 Connor Walker

Referee: Philip Caulfield

Team Picture courtesy of @C.Heaneyphotography


Causeway Chronicle

Causeway Chronicle