Causeway Chronicle

Comprehensive win for Ballycastle

Pictured are Club Secretary John Jo Collins with myenergi’s Mary Jo McKay ans Colin Campbell as well as Senior Player & myenergi team member Thomas McIlroy

Cookstown Youths 0 Ballycastle United 8

Turlough Connor 7′, Conor Donnelly 15′, 75′, Philip Greene 25′, Lorcan Donnelly 28′, 51′, Daniel Laverty 44′, Conleth McCaughan 49′ for Ballycastle United

A comprehensive win in County Tyrone for Ballycastle against a technical  Cookstown youth side.

Turlough Connor opened the scoring after 7 minutes with a curling effort into the far corner from just outside the box.

Conor Donnelly doubled the lead after Lorcan Donnelly found him unmarked in the box. Captain Philly Greene headed home an Eddie McCloskey corner to make it three in the 24th minute. Four minutes later Lorcan Donnelly made it 4-0 after Conleth McCaughan slipped him through on goal.

It was 5-0 on the stroker of half time after Benny Connor put Daniel Laverty through on the counter attack, the nippy forward showing his pace to get away from the defender before deftly lobbing the ball past the oncoming goalkeeper.

Ballycastle introduced Benny McCarry and Paddy McAlonan at half time and they both were involved in the build up to goal number 6 which was finished off by Conleth McCaughan after a defence splitting pass from Eddie McCloskey.

Lorcan Donnelly got his second of the game soon after, that man McCloskey again with the assist. Ben McQuillan, Callum Campbell and Eldhose Alex all came on for the remaining 30 minutes were prevalent in ensuring Ballycastle retained possession.

The final goal came from the left hand side as Conleth McCaughan played Conor Donnelly through and the ruthless striker made no mistake.

The club are delighted to welcome myenergi Ireland as club sponsor. We are extremely appreciative of the support myenergi have shown so far, and look forward to a long and successful partnership together for many years to come.

Cookstown Youth Reserves 1 Benas Keturakis GK 2 Patrick Kelly 3 Callum Campbell 4 Stephen Devlin C 5 Ewan Cowden 7 Barrie Kelly 8 Stefan Donnelly 10 Kieffer Scott 16 Tom Wilkinson 34 Ryan O’Neill 35 Mark Montague Substitutions 6 Danny McElhatton 14 Christopher Eastwood 15 George Dardis 17 Richard McMenemy 22 Aaron Whitten

Ballycastle United 1 Eamon Butler GK 2 Diarmaid Hill 3 Lorcan Donnelly 4 Philip Greene C 5 Shane Farrelly 6 Breandan Connor 7 Daniel Laverty 8 Turlough Connor 9 Conor Donnelly 10 Conleth McCaughan 11 Eddie McCloskey Substitutions 12 Eldhose Alex 14 Patrick Mcalonan 16 Brendan McCarry 17 Callum Campbell 18 Ben McQuillan

Referee: Ian McCulloch


Maurice Bradley