Causeway Chronicle

Borbury Boys beat Sky Blues in exciting derby

Borbury FC – 5 Magherafelt Sky Blues Reserves – 3

The Borbury Boys overcame a defiant Sky Blues team to complete a league double for the season, in what proved to be an enthralling high-scoring encounter at Meadowbank playing fields.

The home side started with real attacking purpose and quickly capitalised through Captain Euan McBride’s short-range finish on five minutes from a Martin Mackle assist for 1-0.  Borbury immediately mounted another attack that drew a free kick from 35 yards out. 

The in-form Ben Diamond stepped up and fired off an asking ball into the Sky Blues’ box that evaded everyone and sailed neatly into the net for 2-0 on six minutes.   

The home side’s defensive unit of Fergal McGuigan, Caolan Donnelly, Jack Heron and James O’Connor with Jack Conway in goal were resolute in the first half and met any encroachment on their box with ferocity, evidenced by McGuigan’s unlucky yellow card in a 50-50 challenge. 

Their comfortability at the back allowed the classy Finn Diamond, in tandem with the impressive Eoin McAuley and Ben Diamond to dictate play from the middle of the park and build sustained attacks as Borbury aimed to extend their lead. 

It took until the 20th minute for the home side to add their third goal with Borbury’s Logan Farrelly played in again by Mackle to finish with confidence. 

With a comfortable 3-0 lead, Borbury were able to dictate the pace of the game and create good chances that on another day might have seen the lead extended further in the first half.  As it was, the half-time score remained 3-0.

Keen to press home their advantage, Borbury enjoyed huge amounts of controlled possession before Farrelly slotted home his second goal of the day on 52 minutes for 4-0 as he rolled in from the wing through a gap created by McBride’s clever movement to fire the ball beautifully and emphatically beyond Sky Blues keeper Kevin Mullan for 5-1.                   

Taking their foot of the gas somewhat, the home side then allowed Sky Blues a glimmer of hope when substitute Daniel O’Neill scored to make it 4-1 on 62 minutes. 

Regrouping and keen to protect players operating with some niggling injuries, Borbury made wholesale changes with Victor Mura, John McAllister, Ronan McKenna, Ronan Donnelly and Conor Boyle all entering the fray. 

Still Borbury continued to control the game and create chances.  On 81 minutes, that man Farrelly again, secured his hat-trick as he seized onto a quick throw-in from the quick-thinking McBride to make it 5-1 on 81 minutes.                    

With the end line in sight ,and much to manager McGuigan’s annoyance, Borbury’s passing got a little loose allowing the visitors to mount some late attacks.  Credit however to Sky Blues, as they pushed the right to the end, applying more concerted pressure to score two goals through Stephen O’Neill and the more senior Daniel O’Neill. Borbury managed the game to its 5-3 conclusion despite sustaining a few injuries in the latter stages. 

A stern test now awaits Borbury next week with Portstewart Town visiting Mill Park in the next round of Coleraine and District Morning Challenge Cup.  The Championship side will be favourites and are currently riding high in the top three of the table.

Hugh thanks to the Borbury supporters who cheered the Boys on to another important three points. 

Thanks also to this season’s primary sponsors Promould Limited, LJs Tavern and the Brackagh Quarry Wind Farm Community Fund for their continued support in enhancing the Club.

Borbury 1 Jack Conway GK 2 Jack Heron 3 James O’Connor 4 Caolan Donnelly 5 Fergal McGuigan 6 Finn Diamond 7 Ben Diamond 8 Eoin McAuley 9 Logan Farrelly 10 Euan McBride C 11 Martin Mackle Substitutions 15 Daniel McCullagh 16 Ronan Donnelly 17 Victor Mura 18 Ronan McKenna 19 Conor Boyle 20 John McAllister 42 Joe Heron

Magherafelt Sky Blues Reserves 1 KEVIN MULLAN GK 2 Brian Devlin C 3 Conor Keenan
4 Gareth Johnston 5 Patrick McAuley 6 Daniel O’Neill 7 James Devlin 8 Michael Devlin 9 Matthew Bradley 10 Patrick Feeney 11 Jamie Gribben Substitutions 12 Chris Kerr 14 DANIEL ONEILL 15 Steven O’Neill 16 Jack Lennox 17 Thomas Beattie

Referee: Stephen McGuckin

Causeway Chronicle

Causeway Chronicle