Causeway Chronicle

Allen to start defence on Opening Day in York

The draw for the MrQ UK Championship in York has been made, with Mark Allen to begin the defence of his title on the opening afternoon on Saturday November 25.

The tournament runs from November 25 to December 3 at the York Barbican. The schedule for top 16 seeds has now been announced:

Saturday November 25, 1pm

Mark Allen v qualifier; Mark Williams v qualifier

7pm: Kyren Wilson v qualifier; Tom Ford v qualifier

Sunday November 26 1pm

Luca Brecel v qualifier; Zhang Anda v qualifier

7pm: Shaun Murphy v qualifier; Ali Carter v qualifier

Monday November 27, 1pm

Judd Trump v qualifier; Barry Hawkins v qualifier

7pm: Mark Selby v qualifier; Jack Lisowski v qualifier

Tuesday November 28, 1pm

Ronnie O’Sullivan v qualifier; John Higgins v qualifier

7pm: Neil Robertson v qualifier; Robert Milkins v qualifier

For the full draw and format for the main event and qualifying rounds, visit

Tickets start at just £22 and any remaining seats are sure to sell fast now that the schedule has been announced. For all details

.Sessions already SOLD OUT are:

Saturday November 25th: All Day Tickets

Saturday November 25th:  Afternoon session

Friday December 1st: Afternoon session

Saturday December 2nd: All Sessions

Sunday December 3rd: All Sessions

Northern Ireland’s Allen beat Ding Junhui 10-7 in the final at the Barbican last year to win the title for the first time. This year’s event promises to be a classic, with many all-time greats in the field as well as in-form Zhang Anda and Tom Ford who have leapt into the top 16 for the first time.

The 16 seeds will be joined by 16 players who come through the qualifying rounds in Leicester, which run from November 18 to 23. Star names among the 128 players heading for the qualifiers include three-time UK Champion Ding, Stephen Maguire, Stuart Bingham, Hossein Vafaei, Ryan Day, Si Jiahui, Jimmy White and Ken Doherty.

Fans are welcome at the qualifying rounds for just £10 per day.

Or watch the drama unfold during all six days of the qualifying rounds, from November 18th to 23rd, live on discovery+ or the Eurosport App (depending on your location), as well as the last four days on WST’s Facebook and YouTube channels.

The last two days of the qualifying event, on November 22nd and 23rd, will be ‘Judgement Day’ as players battle for coveted places in the final stages. The random draw for the final stages will be made on Thursday 23rd.

The MrQ UK Championship is one of snooker’s Triple Crown Series, with a long history dating back to 1977. The final stages will be available to watch live on BBC, Eurosport, the Eurosport App, discovery+ and a range of other broadcasters worldwide, with full details to be announced soon.

Causeway Chronicle

Causeway Chronicle